Center Market

I went to my first farmer’s market of the year on Wednesday. Most of them don’t start up in earnest until May, but the Center Market in midtown was open and I decided to stop by.

I didn’t realize that it was outside and combed the University Center looking for it. I was on my way out of the parking lot when I spotted it. It was tiny, just a few tables and several vendors braving the brisk spring weather. It’s been about 45-50 degrees lately with a light breeze and while it’s quite warm in the sun, under the shade of the tents it had to have been chilly.

I didn’t catch vendor names, but there was local honey, a rep from the local dairy selling cheese and ice cream, a farm offering parsnips, potatoes, pork, and eggs, as well as baked goods from a bakery in town and frozen seafood.

I got an 18ct of eggs, some parsnips, a package of sliced pork heart, and some extra sharp cheese I had been coveting from the dairy. I plan to make a quiche and also a baked root vegetable dish with heart and plum sauce. It sounds sorta strange, but I think it will be delicious.

Leave a Reply

