Plying Frustrations

I’m really frustrated at my plying attempts. This pink merino I’ve been spinning is gorgeous and shimmery and smooth, but the second I ply it, it turns into this freaky, wooly, muddy mess that’s more thick/thin than the single!

I fought with it all afternoon, and then decided to knit up a sample to see how bad it biased, to see if it was as atrocious looking knit up as it was in the skein, and how the hand felt.

There’s good news, and there’s bad news. The bad news is that it biases something fierce. I’ll have to try a different plying method, because the one I’m using sure isn’t working. It biases because it’s overtwisted, and the hand is a bit firm because of that.

Once I sort that out, it’ll be all good news, because: Surprise! It looks exactly how I wanted it to look when it’s knit up! To top it off, the garter portions are extremely squooshy, like I was hoping. The stockinette? not so much, but when the overtwist is fixed, it should be very soft and yummy.

2 responses to “Plying Frustrations

  1. dangerouspenguin

    You anticipated my demand. Pictures!

  2. merino is fickle πŸ™‚ there should be MUCH less to no biasing when you set the twist and it will bloom a lot!

    a couple of things i just learned about merino: it wants to be plump and squishy, so don’t be afraid to thwack it on the bathtub/washer/your leg/floor a bunch when it finished soaking. apparently, it responds well to aggressive behavior πŸ˜‰ one of my friends does a hot bath, a cold bath, a hot bath with lots of thwacking in between (but no agitating during). i also learned you can ply it pretty hard and it will still bloom a bunch during setting. hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

