Manos Success!

Several years ago, I came across the Manos del Uruguay handdyed handspun 100% wool yarn. It comes in gorgeous solids and some very interesting colorways. I was going to buy a skein of the Wildflower colorway, and then I remembered that one skein doesn’t go very far, and so I bought two. Which isn’t really enough to do much of with either, unless you’re making hats and scarves and whatnot.

So I’ve hung on to this gorgeous yarn for ages, and the problems just keep wracking up.

1. It’s not very soft. It’s not scratchy, but it’s just not something I want to have against my skin for a whole day. That means no shirts, and no little neckwarmers. Scarves, hats, gloves, sure, cause I won’t spend all day with them on.

2. Vareigated? Seriously, when will I learn. I hate the stripey look this type of yarn gives when the color repeats match up, so I have to pick my patterns very carefully. I swear off this sort of yarn frequently, but pretty colorways suck me in time and time again.

3. It’s kinda bulky. Aran weight? Yeah, but single ply, and it blooms. Don’t get me wrong, I like bulky yarns, but I don’t want to end up with stiff, thick fabric once it’s knit up.

My options have been pretty limited so far. I could, I suppose, go buy more, but I just don’t relish the thought of fighting with stripes I don’t want for a large garment or whatever.

I found a scarf that was designed with this yarn in mind. Even in the colorway. I’m trying to find out if the library has a copy, because I really like it. But I don’t want to buy a book of about 100 patterns, of which I only care for about four. Here’s the scarf, called the Cross stitch scarf.

Reservations? It’s SUPER thick when it knits up. And some days I’m not in love with it. So I guess the search is still on.

I found another scarf called the “My So Called Scarf” and I hate the name enough for me to dislike the pattern. I thought it was pretty. For a while. Now I can’t stand it. I was going to post it, but I’ve come to hate it, and I don’t even want it on my blog.

Then I found it. Absolutely found it. It’s called the “Holding Hands, Feeding Ducks” scarf, and it’s a modified star stitch. There have been many many many scarves knit in manos and in this colorway on Ravelry, and I just wanted to show you how dang pretty this is.

Hopefully I will still love it tomorrow. In any event, I am going to cast on tomorrow and do some gauge swatches. I’ll post pics as they come.

5 responses to “Manos Success!

  1. dangerouspenguin

    Wowsers! I love that last pattern. I know NOTHING about knitting (much to my mother’s dismay — she’s a knitting freak and used to own a knitting store) but I just love how that looks.

  2. homespunheretic

    I think it’s so pretty. I love stitch patterns that clearly make every stitch in a variegated yarn stand out with a different color. I think it’s very neat. There’s another one you should see, and I’m tempted to buy more of this yarn just so that I can make this scarf in the eclipse colorway. I’m not usually into these colors together, but this just looks like campfire flames against the gloomy twilight. Check it out:

  3. That is a very pretty pattern! I’m glad I’m not the only one who can be put off a pattern by its name!

  4. homespunheretic

    Welcome! I respect designers who put a lot of thought into naming their patterns, either descriptively or evocatively. “My so called scarf?” Who the heck would want to knit something like that? It sounds so humdrum, like the person didn’t really care. I know it was a popular pattern for a while, but I just can’t hang with the indifference long enough to cast on.

Leave a Reply

