Wool

Jeanette is just getting the last of her sheep sheared. In past years she has donated her wool to the local fiber guild, but they can only take so much and she’s got tons of fleeces that need to be processed. She has no idea about the quality of the wool, or how to do anything with it, and mostly it’s just taking up a lot of space.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at this, and I asked her if I could have a fleece to work with. She said I could have them all, if I liked. A member of the guild dropped by a few hats she had made from past years, and the wool isn’t great, but it’s not bad. I would wear it, and I think that’s what matters. Jeanette even said she knows a woman who is trying to rehome a spinning wheel. Neat.

As soon as I make some room downstairs, I’ll start researching what needs to be done. I’m excited at the prospect of finally being able to do this project with so little outlay. And if I mess up and accidentlly felt the wool, or mis-spin the yarn, who cares! It would just sit and be mouse bedding otherwise.

Leave a Reply

